Scientific Advisory Board

LUNGevity is proud to be working with an outstanding team of dedicated scientists and researchers. They are leaders in their fields with a broad range of expertise.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board volunteer their time to meet annually in order to advise LUNGevity on the best strategic direction for research investments. Often Board members also generously guide the Foundation on key issues within the early detection and therapeutic arenas.


Denise R. Aberle, MD
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Professor and Vice Chair of Research, Radiology

Nasser Altorki, MB, BCh
NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Chief, Division of Thoracic Surgery

Philip D. Bonomi, MD
Rush University Medical Center
Alice Pirie Wirtz Professor of Medical Oncology
Director, Division of Hematology-Oncology

Julie R. Brahmer, MD
The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Associate Professor of Oncology
Interim Co-Director, Upper Aerodigestive (UAD) Program
Interim Director, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Care Center at Johns Hopkins Bayview

David Carbone, MD, PhD
The Ohio State University
Professor, Division of Medical Oncology
Barbara J. Bonner Chair in Lung Cancer Research
Director of the Thoracic Oncology Center

Martin "Mac" Cheever, MD
Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network

Principal Investigator
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
University of Washington
Professor of Medicine/Oncology

Steven M. Dubinett, MD
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Translational Research
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI)

John V. Heymach, MD, PhD
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Professor and Chairman, Department of Thoracic/Head and Neck Medical Oncology
Division of Cancer Medicine 

James Jett, MD
National Jewish Health
Professor of Medicine

Robert L. Keith, MD
University of Colorado, Denver

Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology
Denver VAMC
Associate Chief of Staff - Research

J. Jack Lee, PhD, DDS
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Professor of Biostatistics
Kenedy Foundation Chair in Cancer Research
Associate Vice Provost, Quantitative Research

Scott Lippman, MD
University of California, San Diego
Director, Moores Cancer Center
Chugai Pharmaceutical Chair
Professor of Medicine

Pierre P. Massion, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Professor of Medicine
Ingram Professor of Cancer Research
Professor of Cancer Biology
Director, Thoracic Program at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Charles Rudin, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Professor and Chief, Thoracic Oncology Service

Lawrence H. Schwartz, MD
Columbia University Medical Center
James Picker Professor and Chairman, Department of Radiology
NewYork Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center

Lecia V. Sequist, MD, MPH
Harvard Medical School
Associate Professor of Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center - Center for Thoracic Cancer
Attending Oncologist 

Steven J. Skates, PhD
Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital
Associate Professor

Avrum Spira, MD, MSci
Boston University
Professor of Medicine, Pathology and Bioinformatics
Alexander Graham Bell Professor in Healthcare Entrepreneurship
Chief, Section of Computational Biomedicine

Margaret R. Spitz, MD, MPH
Baylor College of Medicine
Professor, Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center