LUNGevity Foundation Lung Cancer Award Featured In EIC's 15th Annual Prism Awards Showcase

Show to Air Sept. 25 & Beyond on FX Network East, ION Life, mtvU, National Geographic Channel, REELZCHANNEL, Retirement Living TV, TV Guide Network, Bravotv.com, E!, MTV, TVGuide.com, Retirement Living TV

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact:
Victoria Shapiro
202-414-0774
vshapiro@susandavis.com  

Washington (September 23, 2011) - LUNGevity Foundation’s inaugural award for authentic portrayal of lung cancer, given to the CBS daytime television series “The Bold and the Beautiful,” will be featured as part of the 15th Annual PRISM Awards Showcase that begins airing on September 25, 2011. The Foundation is the nation’s largest lung cancer research non-profit.

The new award was created in partnership with the Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC), the premiere non-profit organization dedicated to raising awareness of health and social issues through entertainment. The intent of the award is to encourage accurate depictions of lung cancer – its diagnosis, symptoms, effects, and treatment - in movies and television programs. In 2010, “The Bold and the Beautiful” introduced a continuing storyline dealing with the character of Stephanie who is diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer and is undergoing treatments.

The airing schedule is available at: http://prism.eiconline.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/PRISM-Airing-Schedule1-e1316815231182.jpg

Airing times include:

September 25

  • 4:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. PT – FX Network East, TV Guide

Network East (DirecTV/Dish for both), REELZCHANNEL, ION Life

  • 4:00 p.m. PT – FX Network West, TV Guide Network West
  • 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT – Retirement Living TV
  • 12a.m. ET/ 9:00 p.m. PT- mtvU
  • 1:00 a.m. ET / 10:00 p.m. PT – FX Network East

(DirecTV/Dish), REELZChannel

  • 1:00 a.m. PT – FX Network West
  • 2:00 a.m. PT – National Geographic Channel

September 26

  • 5:00 a.m. ET – National Geographic Channel

September 27

  • 10:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. PT – Retirement Living TV

September 28

  • 4:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. PT – Retirement Living TV

Video On-Demand – September 25 – October 31

Bravotv.com

E!

MTV

MTV.com

TVGuide.com

About LUNGevity Foundation                                                                                                           The mission of LUNGevity Foundation is to have a meaningful and immediate impact on improving lung cancer survival rates, ensure a higher quality of life for lung cancer patients, and provide a community for those impacted by lung cancer. In order to accomplish its mission, LUNGevity funds the most promising research into the early detection and successful treatment of lung cancer. LUNGevity also supports the largest national grassroots lung cancer network.  The organization moves forward firmly resolved to provide the energy, inspiration, and resources that are critical to making lung cancer a national priority. LUNGevity’s goal is to Stop Lung Cancer Now.

For more information, visit: www.lungevity.org